All reviews for Built-To-Last Potting Bench


  • August 17, 2018

    I built this with left over forms from a concrete job. I added a small back support to both shelves to keep things from falling off the back. The only thing I would add is that on the plans it tells you to orient the holes all the same direction and the first board should indicate which direction "up" is. This may be helpful for beginners. Otherwise, great plans.

    - Vickie Mandy-Heath

  • May 20, 2018

    I just finished building. I finished with fruitwood stain and outdoor sealer. Used pressure treated pine. I will make again

    - Rebecca Loeve

  • October 21, 2017

    This potting table took me 4 hours in build time. I had a little difficulty with using the pocket hole jig at first as I’ve never used one before. I did a few practice pieces and off I went. Pretty good plans. The wife adores it!! Thanks

    - RJ Veteran

  • May 26, 2017

    I built this bench with a modified plan. I have no idea how anyone finishes in 4 hours, but it took me about 10 to modify, cut and do all the pocket screw holes (I am a moderate level DIYer). I will admit the pockets went much faster when I bought a higher powered drill, but I still can't see that saving me 5+ hours. I love the way it turned out and it's sturdy enough for me to screw the hose reel for the back yard to the side (with an added side piece). I took away 1 star because no one in the area sells exterior rated 1-1/2 inch pocket hole screws and I added hardware cloth to the back to keep the wind from blowing things off. If all the supplies had been easy to find and it had backing boards I would have given it 5.

    - Celeste Chapman-Williams

  • May 6, 2017

    Great instructions - complete and accurate. The only things missing - in my opinion - are a couple pieces of blocking beneath the back 5/4 decking boards for the potting surface and shelf. Still ... great bench. Thanks!

    - Paul Lekang

  • May 22, 2016

    My wife loves this bench! Perfect working height and overall dimensions....the look is outstanding. We used red cedar with a quality deck clear stain/sealer. Solid, strong joints, tight fit. Short build time... 4 to 5 hours for me. Thank you for great plans.

    - Mike Mezey

  • May 17, 2016

    Bought Red Cedar for the project. Purchased exactly what was suggested. Measurements were perfect. Took about 4 hours to complete. The only quirk was the weird cuts on the corners and top pieces (decoration?). Took 2 Quarts of sealer. The end product was far superior than anything I could have purchased for $200.00 (including stain). LOOOVVEE IT!! Thank you!

    - susan cribari

  • March 18, 2016

    The clear, understandable step-by-step directions and excellent photos and schematics make this a gotta-do-Now project. Thank you for such clarity. In building a sturdy, attractive new one with these directions to replace my husband's old rickety potting bench, the only change I'll make is to add a back strip to the upper shelves to keep light-weight pots, etc. from toppling off backwards in our infamous chinook winds (Alaska). Thanks again for bringing me right into springtime with this enticing project!

    - Bev Kirk

Review this plan

Tell everyone what you think about this plan

Write Review